Posted in Craft

Colours of Spring

“Spring is nature’s way of saying Let’s Party – Robin Williams”

Well! I happen to absolutely agree with Robin Williams.

The special smell of the soil. The blooming of flowers. the mild blowing of the wind. Ah!

The state of the mighty river Brahmaputra, Assam, happens to celebrate spring in the best way possible — the Assamese New Year.. !!!!

The Assamese New Year basically marks the first day of the Hindu solar calendar and is majorly associated with the crop cycle.

The native term for the Assamese New Year is Rongali Bihu or Bohag Bihu. Celebrations begins in mid-April and generally continues for the month. On the New Year’s Eve community dinner feasts are organized and/or family and friends get together for New Year’s Eve dinner party.

Traditional delicacies of the Assamese New Year i.e. Rongali Bihu includes coconut balls, sesame seed balls, rice cakes, puffed rice served with curd and jaggery, coconut stuffed calzone pockets, salted fried crackers and an array of sweets including payash.

I, personally, am a big fan of Rongali Bihu. I absolutely love dancing to the beats of the local drum called Dhul and the pepa.

img-20170113-wa00142

That’s me! Dancin’ away to the beats of a bihu song… Don’t I look pretty??!!

For the next month or so I will be blogging on crafts associated with this very happy and very joyous Assamese New Year. They will be fairly easy to make and very cost effective.

And I didn’t even tell you the best part yet !

You can customize them according your own choices!!! 

So what are you waiting for?

Grab your share of craft supplies and get ready to rock this new year like never before!

P.S: If you will, please send me your creations. I would love to feature them on my blog. (not to          worry! due credit will be given) 🙂 

Much Love,

Have fun

– Happy Crafting

IMG-20170113-WA0013.jpg

Author:

From the beautiful Northeast of India, I am the ‘Artistically Crafty’ Muskymiris (musk-y-miris) and this is my blog Sublime Queen Strawberry. Apart from indulging in the sweet ecstasy of being a food lover and a bibliophile, I am a Biotechnology graduate from St. Edmund’s College, Shillong. Basically an ambivert by nature, I just heart cartoon movies. Starting out as more of a hobby initially, crafting turned into a passion for me as I realised I could bring my imagination to a tangible reality. The OMG! I love its, so pretty and so beautifuls and the occasional this is amazings added stars to my satisfaction level and kept fuelling my enthusiasm meter. Sublime Queen Strawberry is a fun and creative compendium of unlimited source and inspiration for every craft enthusiast. Let’s spread some craftiness. With much love , Have fun. – Happy Crafting

One thought on “Colours of Spring

Leave a Reply

